Article and Library Databases by Subject

Searching Off campus?   Use your current CCC library card barcode number and PIN to access resources.

 

ALL SUBJECTS

Academic Search Premier ALL Subjects - Scholarly, multi-disciplinary article database with more than 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals.

Biography Collection Complete All Subjects - Find full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.

CollegeAnywhere All Subjects - Explore and/or search hundreds of hours of streaming video including PBS documentaries. Students click on Guest Access.

Credo Reference All Subjects - Access to full-text and multimedia from authoritative sources on a wide array of subjects including art, business, languages, law, medicine, religion, sciences and much more.

ebrary All Subjects - Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.

Encyclopedia Britannica All Subjects - Full text encyclopedia and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, flags and Web sites

Masterfile Elite ALL Subjects - This magazine article database provides full text to more than 1000 magazines. Also includes nearly 52 full text reference books, and an Image Collection of 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

National Newspapers Premiere
(ProQuest)
News - Full text access to major national and regional newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor and Philadelphia Inquirer.

Naxos Spoken Word Library ALL Subjects - A comprehensive collection of audiobook material concentrating largely in humanities. Many audiobooks include text on screen. (5 simultaneous user limit)

Newspaper Source Plus News - Provides selected full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Overdrive-- (popular ebooks and audiobooks) All Subjects - Checkout and download popular EBooks and audiobooks from the college library's Overdrive collection.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) ALL Subjects - Resource provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Zinio - Popular Online Magazines All Subjects - Read popular magazines on your computer, Android, Blackberry Playbook, Kindle Fire, iPhone or iPad. There is no limit on the number of magazines you can download. Once downloaded, you may keep them as long as you like.
Note: you must create two accounts:
1. a CCC Library Zinio account to browse the Library collection
2. a Zinio.com account to view the magazines on your computer or mobile device. Learn how !

ART

Art Full Text Art - Covers 500 journals in fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997.

Oxford Art Online Art - Oxford Art Online, formerly Grove Art Online, is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. This online resource provides access to text and images in the following visual arts sources:
  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
(Note: Library subscription provides access to1 simultaneous user)

Project MUSE Interdisciplinary - Collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
BUSINESS

Business Source Elite Business - Provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources.
Also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Hoover's Company Profiles Business - This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. 

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

National Newspapers Premiere
(ProQuest)
News - Full text access to major national and regional newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor and Philadelphia Inquirer.

Newspaper Source Plus News - Provides selected full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers

Regional Business News News - Coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

RefUSA Business - Contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care provider; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents

Small Business Resource Center Business - Small Business Resource Center is part of JerseyClicks - New Jersey's statewide portal for searching full-text databases. The resource covers topics related to starting and growing a business. Resources include full-text reference books on entrepreneurship and small business—including a collection of sample business plans. Also includes full-text journals, magazines and trade publications (1980s-present), as well as links to relevant websites and business videos.

Wall Street Journal News - It  "is the financial newspaper of record" and  "offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
CAREER

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Career - Profiles to more than 2,000 of today's most exciting jobs in more than 90 industries. Find in-depth job descriptions complete with job-specific resource listings, detailed industry descriptions, career resources, and career preparation information.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
CONSUMER HEALTH

Health Source: Consumer Edition Consumer Health - Access to approximately 80 full text consumer magazines

MEDLINEplus Consumer Health - Goldmine of consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Covers 500+ diseases as well as information about prescription and nonprescription drugs.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
Ebooks & Audiobooks

ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection Reference - Small collection of e-book titles comprising of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks for quick facts and multi-disciplinary research.

Credo Reference Reference - Access to full-text and multimedia from authoritative sources on a wide array of subjects including art, business, languages, law, medicine, religion, sciences and much more.

Demystified Collection
McGraw Hill Ebook Library
All Subjects - A collection of self-teaching ebooks for various subjects. Each title provides key points, background information, quizzes at the end of each chapter, and even a final exam.

ebrary All Subjects - Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. Create an ebrary account to take full advantage of all features such as creating a personal bookshelf and downloading ebooks.

Gale Virtual Reference Reference - Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks for quick facts and multi-disciplinary research.

Naxos Spoken Word Library ALL Subjects - A comprehensive collection of audiobook material concentrating largely in humanities. Many audiobooks include text on screen. (5 simultaneous user limit)

Overdrive
Popular Ebooks and Audiobooks
All Subjects - Checkout and download popular EBooks and audiobooks from the college library's Overdrive collection.

STAT!Ref Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Stat!Ref database provides online access to some textbooks, reference books, and videos used within Allied Health programs. (Note: Library subscription provides access to 1 simultaneous user)

 
EDUCATION

ERIC Education - Educational Resource Information Center database includes over 1 million documents and journal articles from 1966 to present. Journal articles identified as EJ. Documents identified as ED.
NOTE: Due to government shutdown Full Text articles from ERIC are not available.

Chronicle of Higher Education Education - News and career-information source for college and university faculty members.

Teacher Reference Center Education - Access to abstracts for more than 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
ENVIRONMENT

Academic Search Premier ALL Subjects - Scholarly, multi-disciplinary article database with more than 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals.

GreenFile Environment - Database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.

Science Direct

 

Science - Scientific, technical and medical journal database. 1700 plus full text journals from Elsevier Science... Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
HEALTH, MEDICINE, NURSING, DENTISTRY

Anatomy TV for Dental Hygiene Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text.
Strip away or add layers of tissue from skin to bone and back. Rotate each view 360 degrees. Most content exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects. (Note: Library subscription provides access to 5 simultaneous users)

   
CINAHL Complete Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry -Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Authoritative health resource for all areas of nursing & allied health literature from 1937 to present. Provides full text for more that 1300 journals. Also includes over 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets, 170 Continuing Education Modules, and more.


MedCalc 3000 Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.

MEDLINEplus Consumer Health - Goldmine of consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Covers 500+ diseases as well as information about prescription and nonprescription drugs.

Nursing Resource Center Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Nursing Resource Center is part of JerseyClicks - New Jersey's statewide portal for searching full-text databases. Resource database brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients.

PubMed Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - PubMed is a FREE service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Science Direct

 

Science - Scientific, technical and medical journal database. 1700 plus full text journals from Elsevier Science... Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.


STAT!Ref Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Stat!Ref database provides online access to some textbooks, reference books, and videos used within Allied Health programs. (Note: Library subscription provides access to 1 simultaneous user)

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
HISTORY

CQ Historic Documents History - Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year.

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Project MUSE Interdisciplinary - Collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
LAW & CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Academic Search Premier ALL Subjects - Scholarly, multi-disciplinary article database with more than 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals.

Films On Demand:
Criminal Justice & Law Video Collection
Law and Criminal Justice - Films on Demand is a collection of high-quality educational streaming videos. The Criminal Justice & Law Video Collection focuses on the criminal justice system, the criminal mind, juvenile justice, forensic science and more.

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Legal Forms for New Jersey

Law and Criminal Justice - Legal Forms is part of JerseyClicks - New Jersey's statewide portal for searching full-text databases. Resource provides wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

SocIndex with Full Text Sociology - Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social work, substance abuse, welfare, and many others. This sociology research database contains indexing for thousands of journals, and the full text for approximately 850 titles. Full text is also provided for more than 800 books and thousands of conference papers.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
LITERATURE

Bloom's Literary Reference Online Literature - Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature. Contains information and criticism on specific literary works—from poetry to plays—browsable by genre and time period or alphabetically.

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Literature Resource Center Literature - Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Literary Reference Center Literature- A full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.

Project MUSE Interdisciplinary - Collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
NEWS & ISSUES

CQ Researcher News & Issues - In-depth articles on current and controversial issues. Each article offers a lengthy discussion of the issue, pros and cons, background information, a chronology, future outlook, a bibliography and links. Excellent resource.

National Newspapers Premiere
(ProQuest)
News - Full text access to major national and regional newspapers including:
The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor and Philadelphia Inquirer.


Newspaper Source Plus News - Provides selected full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Points of View Issues - A series of essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Wall Street Journal News - It  "is the financial newspaper of record" and  "offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Zinio - Popular Online Magazines All Subjects - Read popular magazines on your computer, Android, Blackberry Playbook, Kindle Fire, iPhone or iPad. Some magazines include features like video, audio and live links.
Note: you must create two accounts:
1. a CCC Library Zinio account to browse the Library collection
2. a Zinio.com account to view the magazines on your computer or mobile device. Learn how !

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
PSYCHOLOGY

DSM Premium @ Psychiatry.org Psychology / Psychiatry - The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) Premium collection provides diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to illustrate real-life examples, treatment guidelines, and current research, all within one search and navigation interface that includes journals (e.g., Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences), and books (i.e., DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Handbook and Casebook, and DSM archives).

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Project MUSE Interdisciplinary - Collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.

PsycArticles Psychology - A definitive source, from the American Psychological Association (APA), of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
Reference

ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection Reference - Small collection of e-book titles comprising of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks for quick facts and multi-disciplinary research.

Access Science

Reference - Updated, authoritative encyclopedia covering all fields of science.

Biography Collection Complete

 

All Subjects - Find full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.

Credo Reference Reference - Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of subject matters, such as art, business, literature, and science. Credo also includes maps, images, and sound files.

Encyclopedia Britannica Reference - Full text encyclopedia and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, flags and Web sites.

Gale Virtual Reference Reference - Small collection of e-book titles comprising of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks for quick facts and multi-disciplinary research.

Literary Reference Center Literature - A full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.

Oxford Art Online Art - Oxford Art Online, formerly Grove Art Online, is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. This online resource provides access to text and images in the following visual arts sources:
  • - Grove Art Online
  • - The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • - The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • - The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
(Note: Library subscription provides access to 5 simultaneous users)

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !
 
SCIENCE

Access Science Reference - Updated, authoritative encyclopedia covering all fields of science.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals


Science - Find full-text (page image) access to select scientific journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Journals included in library subscription are:

Analytical Chemistry (1996 to present)

C&EN - Chemical & Engineering News (current year)

Journal of Chemical Education, (1924 to present )

Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1996 to present)

Anatomy TV for Dental Hygiene Health, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry - Includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text.
Strip away or add layers of tissue from skin to bone and back. Rotate each view 360 degrees. Most content exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects. (Note: Library subscription provides access to 5 simultaneous users)


Science Direct

Science - Scientific, technical and medical journal database. 1700 plus full text journals from Elsevier Science... Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.


Science Journal Online Science -a leading science journal for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

 
SOCIOLOGY

JSTOR Interdisciplinary - Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Project MUSE Interdisciplinary - Collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.


Science Direct

 

Science - Scientific, technical and medical journal database. 1700 plus full text journals from Elsevier Science... Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.


SocIndex with Full Text Sociology - Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social work, substance abuse, welfare, and many others. This sociology research database contains indexing for thousands of journals, and the full text for approximately 850 titles. Full text is also provided for more than 800 books and thousands of conference papers.

Also consider databases under ALL Subjects !

Quick Links

Connect to A Librarian